Barcelona 1-0 Celta Vigo: Pedri scores winner as Xavi’s side return to top

Pedri’s other league goal this season came in a 4-0 win at home to Real Valladolid

Pedri scored the winner as Barcelona moved past Celta Vigo to return to the top of La Liga on goal difference.

The 19-year-old was quicker to react and head home from three yards after Gavi’s cross from the left was cut in for his second goal of the season.

It was a disjointed display from Barca, with Celta pressing from behind, coming closest when Jørgen Strand Larsen’s header was disallowed.

Iago Aspas also saw an effort saved, while Goncalo Paciencia hit the post.

Real Madrid had reached the top of the league 1-0 at Getafe on Saturday.

Both teams have won seven and drawn one from their opening eight league games and face each other in the first El Classico of the season next Sunday (15:15 BST).

Barcelona, ​​who have lost two of their opening three Champions League group games, started strongly with former Manchester City winger Ferran Torres curling well before summer signings Rafinha and Robert Lewandowski saw efforts salvaged .

Xavi’s side lacked cohesion and quality for large parts of the game, while Celta improved after falling behind but failed to show a clinical edge in the final third to earn a deserved point.

Barcelona have now conceded just one goal in the league so far this season and have kept four clean sheets in four home games.

Lining up


Formation 4-3-3

  • 1ter Stegen
  • 28BaldeSubstituted forRobertoin the 77′minutes
  • 3Pique
  • 17Alonso
  • 18AlbaReservation at 71 minutesSubstituted forGarthiain the 86′minutes
  • 30Paez Gavira
  • 5BusquetsReserve at 85 minutes
  • 8GonzalesSubstituted forde Jongin the 63′minutes
  • 22RaphinhaSubstituted forDembelein the 64′minutes
  • 9Lewandowski
  • 11TorresSubstituted forFati Vieirain the 63′minutes


  • 7Dembele
  • 10Fati Vieira
  • 20Roberto
  • 21de Jong
  • 24Garthia
  • 26Peña Sotorres
  • 29Casadó
  • 32Torre
  • 35Riyadh
  • 36Tenas

Celta Vigo

Formation 4-1-3-2

  • 1Marchesin
  • 2MalloSubstituted forMingezain the 90+3′minutes
  • 15AidooReserve at 70 minutes
  • 4NúñezReservation at 61 minutes
  • 17Galan Gil
  • 8Beltrán Peinado
  • 11CerviSubstituted forMendes Paciênciain the 84′minutes
  • 28VegaSubstituted forSolariumin the 75′minutes
  • 5RodriguezReservation at 71 minutes
  • 18Strand LarsenSubstituted forPerezin the 75′minutes
  • 10Iago AspasReservation at 90 minutes


  • 3Mingeza
  • 7Perez
  • 9Mendes Paciência
  • 13Villar
  • 14Tapia
  • 19Swedberg
  • 20Vázquez
  • 21Solarium
  • 23de la Torre
  • 26Domínguez

Jose Luis Munuera Montero


Live text

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *