Valorant ranks series, distribution and ranking system

Want to learn about Valorant ratings and how the ranking system works? Like all competitive FPS games, Riot’s Valorant has an ascending title scale to rank the player base by ability. Whether you start out as a lowly Iron or maintain your dominance as a mighty Immortal, if you play Valorant competitively, your life is governed by the ranking system.

Valorant has two different ways in which it measures ranked progress and the overall score of players against each other. Each player has a set brave rank, but there is also a special “act ranking” for each act. In addition, there is also a concept called “rank rating”, which is linked to MMR. Here’s everything you need to know about Valorant ranks, current rank distribution, and competitive play.

All Valorants are ranked in order

Here is a full list of Valorant scores:

  • Iron 1
  • Iron 2
  • Iron 3
  • Bronze 1
  • Bronze 2
  • Bronze 3
  • Silver 1
  • Silver 2
  • Silver 3
  • Gold 1
  • Gold 2
  • Gold 3
  • Platinum 1
  • Platinum 2
  • Platinum 3
  • Diamond 1
  • Diamond 2
  • Diamond 3
  • Ascendant 1
  • Ascendant 2
  • Ascendant 3
  • Immortal 1
  • Immortal 2
  • Immortal 3
  • Radiant

Valorant Act Grade

While your rank is an overall (and accurate) reflection of your skills and abilities, you also earn a separate Act rank as you play each individual act. Your Act rank is officially the highest ranked win, which Riot likes to call your “proven ability”.

There is a hollow triangle mark that you fill in during an act, with tiny colored triangles being placed as you play. No matter how many different rank colors the badge fills, only the top triangle – the highest ranked win – will determine the Act rank.

This is also what governs the reward you will receive at the end of the Act – even if you have spent most of your time in Gold, if you have a Diamond 1 win, you will receive the Diamond rewards. Act rank resets between ranks, but your previous MMR is taken into account as you play placement matches for subsequent actions.

Valorant Ranks: Some examples of Valorant Act rank badges

Valorant rank distribution in September 2022

Point distribution is important in any competitive shooter, and Valorant is no exception. Riot themselves shared information about this as far back as Episode 3 Act 1, where the studio said they were concerned that there were too many people in the lower tiers and not enough to make it to the higher tiers. Fast forward to today and the picture looks much better, with a lower percentage stuck in Iron – although overall stats from show that almost 50% of the player population is still in Iron, Bronze and Silver.

Here is the Valorant rank distribution as of September 2022:

  • Iron: 6.3%
  • Copper: 17.5%
  • Silver: 22.9%
  • Gold: 21.1%
  • Platinum: 16.2%
  • Diamond: 10.1%
  • Ascendant: 4.3%
  • Immortal: 0.9%
  • Radiation: 0.03%

Strong placements and ranking restrictions

As of Episode 4 Act 1, in order to gain ranks in Valorant’s competitive mode, you must have an account level of at least 20. Once you reach this limit, you can participate in ranked play. At the start of each episode, you must play five placement matches, but for each Act 2 and 3 in an episode, you only need to play one placement match – your ranking resets at the start of each Act.

Valorant is a game that tries to promote competitive play between teams, although Riot has also tried to be generous by allowing friends to play against each other, even if there is a rank difference. When it comes to playing with friends, there are some rules to keep in mind:

  • Teams of four are not allowed, to prevent solo players from being selected.
  • Teams of two or three must stay within the rank disparity requirements.
  • Teams of five have no restrictions, although depending on the scores a five has, it will affect your score gains and losses.

As for rank difference, there are restrictions only for teams of two or three players. If the lowest person in the group is Iron or Bronze, then the highest cannot be higher than Silver (any level). If the lowest is Silver, then the highest cannot be higher than Gold (any tier). If gold is the lowest, then platinum is the highest – again, any grade.

If the lowest rank in the group is Platinum, Ascendant, Immortal or Radiant, then the highest player cannot be more than one level higher – so if the lowest is Platinum 2, then the highest can only be Diamond 2. Party of Five stacks ignore inequality restrictions, although depending on how big the difference might be, there can be significant ranking penalties. You can head over to the official Valorant FAQ for more details on this.

That’s everything you need to know about Valorant classes. For more Valorant guides, check out our Valorant tier list for the best characters, our Valorant crosshair codes guide to styling your sites like your favorite pro, and then our Valorant night market guide for those discounted skins .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *